Nebraska Soybean Farmers Encouraged to Apply for Candidacy

Feb 8, 2022

This year, the Nebraska Soybean Board (NSB) will be seeking soybean farmers to represent fellow soybean farmers and the industry in Districts 2, 4 and 8. The candidacy petition period began on December 1 and concludes on April 15.


The following districts are up for election this year:

District 2: Counties of Burt, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Stanton, Thurston and Wayne

District 4: Counties of Boone, Hamilton, Merrick, Nance, Platte, Polk and York

District 8: Counties of Arthur, Banner, Blaine, Box Butte, Brown, Chase, Cherry, Cheyenne, Custer, Dawes, Dawson, Deuel, Dundy, Frontier, Furnas, Garden,


Garfield, Gosper, Grant, Greeley, Harlan, Hayes, Hitchcock, Hooker, Howard, Keith, Keya Paha, Kimball, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, McPherson, Morrill, Perkins, Phelps, Red Willow, Rock, Scottsbluff, Sheridan, Sherman, Sioux, Thomas, Valley and Wheeler


“Being on the Board is a great way for you to represent soybean farmers in your district and help make their voice heard,” said Doug Saathoff, chairman of the Nebraska Soybean Board. “The future of the soybean industry is really exciting and I would encourage soybean farmers in an open district to run and continue to make that future even brighter.”


Qualified candidates include those who are a resident of Nebraska, are at least 21 years old, reside in the district where election is being held, have been a soybean farmer in Nebraska for at least the previous five years and have submitted a NSB candidacy petition. The election is conducted by mail-in ballot in July for District 2, 4 and 8. Soybean farmers who reside in counties that are up for election will receive ballots and candidate information regarding NSB’s election process via direct mail.


To apply for candidacy in District 2, 4 or 8 you must:

  • Obtain a NSB candidacy petition by contacting NSB’s executive director, Scott Ritzman, at 402-432-5720 or [email protected]
  • Complete the petition and collect the signatures of 50 soybean farmers in their district
  • Return such petition to the NSB office on or before April 15, 2022

Roles and responsibilities for soybean board member representative:

  • Attend every NSB meeting – 8-day fiscal year commitment
  • Attend/participate in other educational events sponsored by the Nebraska Soybean Board
  • Reimbursed for the expenses incurred carrying out board business
  • Serve a three-year term that would begin October 1, 2022


About the Nebraska Soybean Board: The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one-half of one percent times the net sales price per bushel of soybeans sold. Nebraska soybean checkoff funds are invested in research, education, domestic and foreign markets, including new uses for soybeans and soybean products.