Nebraska Soybean Board, United Soybean Board seek leaders to represent state’s soybean farmers

Mar 4, 2020

The Nebraska Soybean Board (NSB) is seeking individuals to represent fellow soybean farmers and the industry as it takes nominations for its own board and the United Soybean Board (USB).


Nebraska Soybean Board


The NSB is seeking board members to represent District 5 (Cass, Johnson, Lancaster, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, and Richardson counties), District 7 (Adams, Buffalo, Clay, Franklin, Hall, Kearney, Nuckolls and Webster counties) and At-Large (all counties in Nebraska). Applicants would serve a three-year term beginning Oct. 1 this year. The deadline to apply is April 15.


United Soybean Board

The USB is seeking a Nebraska soybean farmer to fill one of the state’s four director positions for a three-year term. The deadline to apply is March 15.


About the Nebraska Soybean Board: The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one-half of one percent times the net sales price per bushel of soybeans sold. Nebraska soybean checkoff funds are invested in research, education, domestic and foreign markets, including new uses for soybeans and soybean products.


About the United Soybean Board: The United Soybean Board’s 78 farmer-directors work on behalf of all U.S. soybean farmers to achieve maximum value for their soy checkoff investments. These volunteers invest and leverage checkoff funds in programs and partnerships to drive soybean innovation beyond the bushel and increase preference for U.S. soy. That preference is based on U.S. soybean meal and oil quality and the sustainability of U.S. soybean farmers. As stipulated in the federal Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act, the USDA Agricultural Marketing Service has oversight responsibilities for USB and the soy checkoff.