Nebraska Soybean Board Seeks Leaders to Represent Nebraska Soybean Farmers

Jan 12, 2021

This year, the Nebraska Soybean Board (NSB) will be seeking soybean farmers to represent fellow soybean farmers and the industry in Districts 1, 3 and 6. Candidacy petition period began on December 1 and concludes on April 15.


District 1: Counties of Antelope, Boyd, Cedar, Holt, Knox, Madison and Pierce

District 3: Counties of Butler, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Sarpy, Saunders and Washington

District 6: Counties of Filmore, Gage, Jefferson, Saline, Seward and Thayer



“This is a great opportunity for a soybean producer to join the Nebraska Soybean Board and help shape the future of the Nebraska soybean industry and how the board invests the checkoff into programs,” said Scott Ritzman, executive director of the NSB. “I encourage farmers in the districts up for election to submit petitions and join in on this prominent leadership opportunity.”


Qualified candidates include those who are a resident of Nebraska, are at least 21 years old, reside in the district where election is being held, have been a soybean farmer in Nebraska for at least the previous five years and have submitted a NSB candidacy petition. The election is conducted by mail-in ballot in July for District 1, 3 and 6. Soybean farmers who reside in counties that are up for election for 2021 will receive ballots and candidate information regarding NSB’s election process via direct mail.


To apply for candidacy in District 1, 3 or 6 you must:

  • Obtain a NSB candidacy petition by contacting NSB’s executive director, Scott Ritzman, at 402-432-5720 or [email protected]
  • Complete the petition and collect the signatures of 50 soybean farmers in their district
  • Return such petition to the NSB office on or before April 15, 2021

Roles and responsibilities for soybean board member representative:

  • Attend every NSB meeting – 8-day fiscal year commitment
  • Attend/participate in other educational events sponsored by the Nebraska Soybean Board
  • Receive no salary but are reimbursed for the expenses incurred carrying out board business
  • Serve a three-year term that would begin October 1, 2021

About the Nebraska Soybean Board: The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one-half of one percent times the net sales price per bushel of soybeans sold. Nebraska soybean checkoff funds are invested in research, education, domestic and foreign markets, including new uses for soybeans and soybean products.