Nebraska Soybean Farmers Encouraged to Apply for Candidacy

Mar 17, 2021

The Nebraska Soybean Board (NSB) continues to seek leaders to represent soybean farmers in Districts 1, 3 and 6. Interested individuals have until April 15 to complete candidacy petitions.


The following districts are up for election this year:

District 1: Counties of Antelope, Boyd, Cedar, Holt, Knox, Madison and Pierce

District 3: Counties of Butler, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Sarpy, Saunders and Washington

District 6: Counties of Filmore, Gage, Jefferson, Saline, Seward and Thayer


“It’s an opportunity to make an impact on your own industry,” said Eugene Goering, chairman of the Nebraska Soybean Board. “I continue to thoroughly enjoy my time on the board and would encourage farmers in the open districts to apply for candidacy.”


Qualified candidates include those who are a resident of Nebraska, are at least 21 years old, reside in the district where election is being held, have been a soybean farmer in Nebraska for at least the previous five years and have submitted a NSB candidacy petition. The election is conducted by mail-in ballot in July for District 1, 3 and 6. Soybean farmers who reside in counties that are up for election for 2021 will receive ballots and candidate information regarding NSB’s election process via direct mail.


To apply for candidacy in District 1, 3 or 6 you must:

  • Obtain a NSB candidacy petition by contacting NSB’s executive director, Scott Ritzman, at 402-432-5720 or [email protected]
  • Complete the petition and collect the signatures of 50 soybean farmers in their district
  • Return such petition to the NSB office on or before April 15, 2021 

Roles and responsibilities for soybean board member representative:

  • Attend every NSB meeting – 8-day fiscal year commitment
  • Attend/participate in other educational events sponsored by the Nebraska Soybean Board
  • Receive no salary but are reimbursed for the expenses incurred carrying out board business
  • Serve a three-year term that would begin October 1, 2021


About the Nebraska Soybean Board: The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one-half of one percent times the net sales price per bushel of soybeans sold. Nebraska soybean checkoff funds are invested in research, education, domestic and foreign markets, including new uses for soybeans and soybean products.