Nebraska Soybean Board Announces New Officers and Committee Appointments

Nov 29, 2023

The Nebraska Soybean Board (NSB) convened its inaugural board meeting for fiscal year 2024 on November 20–21, 2023, in Lincoln. During this meeting, restructuring of both the board and committees transpired alongside routine board business.

The newly elected officers, chosen to lead the board for a one-year term, are as follows:


  • Chairman: Jason Penke of Craig – District 2
  • Vice Chair: Anne Meis of Elgin – District 1
  • Secretary: Mike Tomes of Utica – District 6
  • Treasurer: Blake Johnson of Holdrege – District 8


In addition to these appointments, committee chairs and members were also announced:


  • Farmer Support Committee: Chair: Ruth Ready
    • Other Members: Jason Penke, Mike Tomes, Doug Saathoff
  • Production & Crop Research Committee: Chair: Doug Saathoff
    • Other Members: Eugene Goering, Blake Johnson, Mike Tomes, Greg Anderson
  • Community Engagement Committee: Chair: Mark Caspers
    • Other Members: Jason Penke, Anne Meis, Ruth Ready
  • Demand & Utilization Committee: Chair: Mark Caspers
    • Other Members: Eugene Goering, Anne Meis, Blake Johnson, Greg Anderson


Andy Chvatal, NSB executive director, expressed confidence in the newly appointed officers and committee members, stating, "These dedicated individuals will be working tirelessly on behalf of Nebraska’s soybean farmers. Throughout the upcoming year, they will continue to make strategic decisions to effectively invest and leverage soybean checkoff resources. Their focus will be on growing value for Nebraska farmers by maximizing their checkoff investments.”


NSB looks forward to a productive and prosperous year ahead under the guidance of its newly elected leadership team and ongoing strategic plan.


About the Nebraska Soybean Board: The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one-half of one percent times the net sales price per bushel of soybeans sold. Nebraska soybean checkoff funds are invested in research, education, domestic and foreign markets, including new uses for soybeans and soybean products.



NSB FY24 Executive Committee: From left to right—Jason Penke (Chairman), Anne Meis (Vice Chair), Blake Johnson (Treasurer), and Mike Tomes (Secretary).